Minimum Age to Work in SD
South Dakota (SD) Quick Reference Table
|Age||Summary of Requirements|
|14-15||May work a total of three hours a day and 18 hours a week between the hours of 7:00am and 7:00pm|
|16-17||Unable to work in hazardous occupations.|
|18-20||Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption|
|21||Able to serve alcohol for consumption. No restrictions.|
South Dakota Child Labor Laws
The codified laws of the South Dakota Legislature explicitly define the rules for employing minors in the state. Employers should possess extensive knowledge of applicable laws before hiring juveniles so as to protect the business and the minor from harm. Workers also benefit from knowing pertinent rights and procedures. The Department of Labor and Regulation, or DLR, stands as the principal agency regulating work laws in the state.
At What Age Can a Child Work in South Dakota?
Generally, individuals in South Dakota gain the privilege to work at the age of 14. The DLR lists recommended jobs for 14 and 15 year olds, including office work, grocery and retail associate positions, restaurant staff, and movie theater occupations. Children younger than fourteen may still babysit, deliver newspapers, and work in television, film, radio and theatrical productions. Once a minor turns 16, work becomes accessible without state restrictions, though federal laws related to dangerous occupations still apply. During the school year, these teens can get the proper application forms for starting jobs through their guidance counselor. However, those looking for seasonal work may need to acquire the paperwork on their own. See the following information to learn how to get a work permit in the summer.
Do you need a work permit during summer?
The state of South Dakota allows minors to join the work force without a work permit during the school year and in the summer.
Where can I get a work permit besides school?
Government-issued documents such as driver’s licenses and birth certificates serve as a work permit for underage workers.
How do I get a work permit during summer?
- After getting an offer for a job, minors may present their proof of age document to their employer.
- The teen’s new boss will keep a copy of their paperwork on record for the duration of the minor’s employment.
What Hours Can a Minor Work in South Dakota?
Regulations on work hours exist to prevent jobs from interfering with the education of minors. School hours stand defined by South Dakota laws as any day or week when academic classes remain in session and administrative officials expect minors to attend. Minors under 16 may not labor after 10:00pm on school nights, while youth citizens under the age of 14 may not work past 7:00pm. Children under fourteen may also never work during school hours.
Workers under 16 years of age face further limitations on labor hours. During school weeks, teens may work for three hours daily and up to 18 hours per week. Non-academic periods allow juveniles to work eight hours in one day and up to 40 hours per week. When discrepancies exist between state and federal law, workers and employers must abide by the stricter of the two standards.
Occupations for South Dakota Minors
State provisions on restricted jobs in South Dakota exist to prevent minors from working in vocations deemed threatening to youth well-being, safety, and ethics. Restrictions remain largely comprised of dangerous professions with daily risks and difficulties. The following occupations stand forbidden to juveniles by the regulations of federal and state law:
- Mining, Including Coal
- Slaughtering/Meat Packing
- Work in Sawmills/Logging
- Manufacturing Brick/Tile Products
- Work with Power-driven Machinery
- Exposure to Radioactive Substances
- Work with Explosives
Several exceptions apply to labor laws on restricted work in South Dakota. Agricultural occupations become accessible to exempt minors in possession of certificates from relevant state or federal agencies and after the completion of safety courses. Specific provisions also allow minors to aid in the detasseling of hybrid seed corn during harvest season. Youth 14 years of age and older may pump and dispense gasoline, oil, and diesel fuel at service stations. Juveniles employed by parents stand excluded from employment prohibition laws, as well.
In some cases, minors may obtain otherwise inaccessible jobs whether the restrictions stand based on age, hours, or danger. The DLR investigates familial financial backgrounds and decides if the work of the minor persists as necessary for the continued financial stability of the family unit. If the DLR resolves labor stands compulsory, the department issues support permits to allow minors to gain employment. The permit regulates the hours and particular jobs minors may work in each situation.
Information for Employers
Employers in the Mount Rushmore State must keep work records for all employed minors continually available. Inspections may occur without notice and at any time. Cleanliness and sanitation of work areas, along with separate-sex restrooms and non-discriminatory policies, comprise legal requirements for business owners hiring underage laborers. Enforcement of child labor laws remains the duty of the South Dakota DLR.
source: South Dakota child labor laws