Minimum Age to Work in AK
Alaska (AK) Quick Reference Table
|Age||Summary of Requirements|
|14-15||Combined work and school hours must be equal to or less than nine hours per day. May only work between the hours of 5:00am and 9:00pm.|
|16-17||Cannot work more than six days a week|
|18-20||May not work in locations with a license to serve alcoholic beverages.|
|21||Able to serve alcohol for consumption. No restrictions.|
How Old Do You Have to Be to Work in Alaska?
In Alaska, individuals as young as 14 may gain employment. The state has several age-related workplace regulations in place to keep young workers safe. These conditions lessen as the teens grow, though limits on handling age-restricted items such as tobacco, alcohol and lottery tickets stay in place until they are 19 or older.
Alaska Child Labor Laws
Work Permit Regulations
All employed minors aged 14 to 16 must have an official work permit, though 17 year olds only need this authorization if their employer has a license to serve alcohol. Work permits issued from the Alaska Wage & Hour Administration allow children under 14 to work in the entertainment industry.
Alaska Work Permit Regulations
While school is in session, students can get applications for work permits from their school guidance counselor. However, it may take a little more effort to find these forms when summer rolls around. Here is some information on how to get a work permit in the summer.
Do you need a work permit during summer?
Yes. Alaskan teens must have a work permit on file to work during the summer months.
Where can I get a work permit besides school?
Application forms for work permits are available on the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development webpage. Follow the “Forms and Publications” link to find the “Child Labor Forms” PDF.
How do I get a work permit during summer?
- Download the work permit application from the Alaska Department of Labor website.
- The minor’s parents or legal guardians fill out Section B of the form.
- The potential employer completes and signs Section A, agreeing to keep a copy of the teen’s proof of age documents (e.g. birth certificate, passport driver’s license, etc.) on the work premises.
- The employer must submit the application to the Wage and Hour office for approval.
- The minor may begin work once the department returns the approved form to the employer.
How Many Hours Can a 14 or 15 Year Old Work?
Young minors can be on the clock for up to 23 hours per week during the school year, so long as the sum of their work and school hours remains lower than nine hours a day. They may only perform jobs six days in a row before getting a day off. During school vacations, minors are able to work between 5:00am and 9:00pm for up to 40 hours each week.
Restricted Occupations for Minors 17 and Under
- Manufacturing, Handing, or Using Explosives
- Driving Motor Vehicles
- Use of Power-Driven Wood-Working Machines
- Exposure to Radioactive Materials
- Working with Elevators or Power-Driven Hoists
- Operating Power-Driven Metal-Working Machines, i.e. Punches and Shears
- Slaughtering and Meat-Packing Jobs
- Operating Power-Driven Bakery Machines
- Operating Power-Driven Paper Product Machines
- Manufacturing Bricks and Tiles
- Operating Circular-Saws, Band Saws, and Guillotine Shears
- Wrecking and Demolition Operations
- Roofing Operations
- Excavation Operations
- Electrical Work with Voltage >200
- Working around Blood Borne Pathogens
- Canvasing, Solicitation, or Door-to-Door Sales
Restricted Occupations for 14 and 15 year olds
Alaska allows workers under 14 to deliver newspapers, or perform domestic tasks such as housekeeping and babysitting Young teens are even able to perform casing duties at cannery warehouses, provided the work site has someone to supervise them. Alaska prohibits 14 and 15 year olds from performing the following occupations:
- Manufacturing of Goods or Processing of Materials
- Construction, with the Exception of Office or Clerical Work
- Boiler Room or Engine Repair
- Maintenance or Repair of Machinery or Equipment
- Jobs Involving the Use of Ladders or Scaffolds
- Work in Freezers or Meat Coolers
- Meat Preparation
- Loading and Unloading Delivery Vehicles and Rail Cars
- Sharpening Tools
- Transportation of Persons, with the Exception of Office or Clerical Work
- Warehouse Work, with the Exception of Office or Clerical work
State law requires anyone under the age of 18 to receive a 30-minute break if scheduled to work six or more hours. Employers must assign breaks after the first hour and half of work and before the last hour of work. Youths under the age of 18 working five consecutive hours must take 30-minute breaks before resuming.
Sale of Restricted Items
While no one below the age of 21 may sell or serve alcoholic beverages. , 18 to 20 year olds may work in the grounds of establishments that sell alcohol. With parental consent and work permits from the Department of Labor and Workforce Development, 16 and 17 year olds may work in environments where alcohol sales take place. The law forbids teenagers younger than 16 from working in places that serve alcohol.
Tobacco and Pull Tabs
Individuals under 19 years old may not sell tobacco or tobacco products at any time during employment, and must be 21 before they can vend pull-tab lottery tickets. Additionally, employers must limit their underage employees’ access to the age-restricted products.
source: Alaska child labor laws