Minimum Age to Work in CTConnecticut (CT) Quick Reference Table
|Age||Summary of Requirements|
|14-15||May not work during school hours.• Before 7:00am or after 7:00pm • More than 3 hours per day • More than 18 hours a week|
|16-17||May work only from 6:00am to 11:00pm • 6 hours per day • 8 hours per day on Friday, Saturday, Sunday|
|18-20||Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption|
|21||Able to serve alcohol for consumption. No restrictions.|
Connecticut Child Labor Laws
The State of Connecticut dictates the minimum working age allowed for minors interested in performing labor for pay. The minimum age to work stands at 14 years old, though the minimum age required to apply for a statement of age, or work permit, stands at 16 years old. Minors 14 and 15 may need to attain a permit if performing work as a caddie or in a pro shop at any golf course and if working in a mercantile business as a bagger, cashier, or stock clerk. Certain other positions minors of said ages obtain typically do not necessitate a work permit, though if unsure, all minors should check with the issuing office.
14 and 15 year olds may not work in a variety of businesses in Connecticut. Certain jobs older minors may work remain exclusive to youths 16 and older. For instance, working in a restaurant or other food service industry establishments remains strictly prohibited, as does working in mercantile establishments, recreational businesses, and the theatrical industry. Minors aged 14 and 15 may also not work in manufacturing industries, barber shops, or any other business types specifically not listed on the Permitted Occupation list provided by the state. Revised state child labor laws allow for a fifteen year old to receive a work permit in order to work in certain industries as a bagger, cashier, or stock clerk.
In accordance with both state and federal laws, no minor under the age of 18 may perform any job related to the manufacturing and storing of explosives, coal mining, operating power-driven machinery in a variety of industries, mining, baking, the use of power tools, wrecking, roofing, digging trenches, meat packing, metal working, automotive maintenance and repair, or driving motor vehicles.
Permissible Jobs for Minors in Connecticut
Connecticut minors may work in a variety of industries as long as certain restrictions remain met depending on the age of the minor at the time of employment. Both 14 and 15 year olds may perform work in various industries, though the jobs available may remain limited due to safety concerns and physical restrictions. The following list outlines acceptable employment for minors under the age of 16:
- Street trades, such as Newspaper Delivery, Shoe Shining, Babysitting, or other Similar Jobs
- Golf caddies
- Household Chores for Private Homeowners, such as Yard Work not Necessitating Mechanical Appliances
- Licensed Summer Camps
- Professional Offices and Municipalities, Performing Work as Library Attendants or in Recreation Departments
- Hospitals, Convalescent Homes, Hotels, Motels, and Banks as long as the Work Doesn’t Include any Food or Laundry Services
Getting a Work Permit
Also called working papers, certificates of age, or employment certificates, work permits in the State of Connecticut fall under the official title of Certificate of Age Forms and must meet several requirements before issuance. A minor must stand at least 16 years of age, appear in person at the local education agency, and provide authentic evidence of age. The state accepts various proofs of age, including birth certificates, baptismal certificates, driver’s licenses, authorized school records, or passports. Youths must also provide written promises of employment signed by prospective employers, as well. Immigrant students must show written evidence from the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service, while minors applying for apprenticeships should also possess apprenticeship approval cards or Certification Form LED 75-1 if enrolled in a Cooperative Work Education Program.
If minors work more than one job, an original set of work permits must exist for each employer. In addition, out-of-state minors may obtain certificates as long as all prior specifications remain met. No Statement of Age Form may transfer, so any new employment, lost, damaged or destroyed original copies must result in the obtaining of a new certificate. For minors under 16, a work permit may not prove necessary if said minor performs an occupation the state does not require a permit for.
How Many Hours Can a Minor Work in Connecticut?
For young minors, hour restrictions include no work at all during school hours in addition to no employment during the hours before 7:00am and after 7:00pm. Such restrictions remain enforced from Labor Day to June 30 of each year. Between July 1 to Labor Day, evening hours extend to 9:00pm. No 14 or 15 year old may work more than three hours per day on school days or eight hours on non-school days, nor may young workers assume schedules featuring more than 18 hours a week during school weeks. On off weeks, minors may work 40-hour weeks.
Youths aged 16 and 17 may find hour restrictions tend to coincide with the industry in which employed. No minor currently enrolled in and not graduated from a secondary institution in the State of Connecticut may work before 6:00am nor work during school hours. For most occupations, minors may not work after 11:00pm, may only work six hours per day, and up to 32 hours per week during school weeks. Minors may work eight hours per day on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. During non-school weeks, a minor over 15 may work eight hours per day, up to 48 hours per week, and up to six days per week. In certain industries, minors may only work up to 10:00pm during school weeks, while the rest of the restrictions account for the same hours. Such industries include retail/mercantile locations, hairdressing, bowling alleys, pool halls, or photography galleries.
Students not enrolled in and not graduated from a secondary institution may work up to eight hours per day and 48 hours per week, and up to six days a week in retail industry locations. For restaurant, mechanical, recreation, amusement, and theater endeavors or occupations, minors in such situations may work up to nine hours a day, 48 hours per week, and up to six days per week.source: Connecticut child labor laws