Minimum Age to Work in IDIdaho (ID) Quick Reference Table
|Age||Summary of Requirements|
|14-15||• 3 hours on a school day or 18 hours in a school week; • 8 hours on a non-school day or 40 hours in a non-school week. Also, work may not begin before 7:00am or end after 7:00pm, except from June 1 through Labor Day, when evening hours are extended to 9:00pm. Different rules apply in agricultural employment. Employers of “tipped employees” must pay a cash wage of at least $2.13 per hour if they claim a tip credit|
|16-17||Does not specifically prohibit jobs. There are 17 listed Hazardous Occupations: if any of them apply, it would be prohibited|
|18-20||Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption|
|21||Able to serve alcohol for consumption. No restrictions.|
Idaho Child Labor Laws
The State of Idaho encourages young workers to apply for and work in occupations providing rewarding experiences and the opportunity to learn important skill sets. Nevertheless, certain industries remain dangerous and at times perilous for minors, so strict labor laws must remain in place. In accordance with both state and federal law, no minor may work in a job that jeopardizes the health or well-being of youths. Instances in which both state and federal rules apply require employers to adhere to whichever proves stricter.
Do Minors in Idaho Need to Obtain a Work Permit?
Idaho remains one of ten states in the United States that does not require minors to obtain a work permit in order to perform any occupation. Employers should still adhere to all state and federal regulations when hiring minors in any capacity. No minor under the age of 14 may work in any occupation, while minors under 16 may work both limited hours and in limited industries. Minors under 18 may experience more freedoms in choices of employment but must still obey certain restrictions.
How Many Hours Can a Minor Work?
Minors under the age of 16 may only work outside of normal school hours. During a school day, 14 and 15 year olds may work up to three hours in total, from 7:00am to 7:00pm. In a school week, the number of hours worked may not exceed 18. In non-school days, a minor may work up to eight hours total and up to 40 hours in a non-school week. The hours allowed may extend to 9:00pm from June 1 through Labor Day of each year. Minors over the age of 15 may work unlimited hours, though specific break times and rest periods may apply.
For 14 and 15 year olds, a variety of choices remain in employment, though certain restrictions may still apply. Work in offices, grocery stores, retail establishments, restaurants, movie theaters, amusement parks, baseball parks, and gasoline service stations remains allowable. However, the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) dictates that only permissible, nonhazardous jobs within each industry may apply. For instance, when working in retail, a minor may perform cashiering, stocking, and bagging jobs, but may not perform such duties that include power-driven machinery. Minors may also work in restaurants performing minor kitchen duties, though most cooking remains off limits.
A minor may not perform in any profession deemed hazardous to the general health and well-being of said youth. The following list details the 17 hazardous occupations young workers under the age of 18 remain prohibited from performing:
- Forest Fire Fighting and Prevention
- Manufacturing Brick, Tile, and Related Products
- Excavation Operations
- Wrecking, Demolition, and Shipbreaking Operations
- Balers, Compactors, and Paper-Processing Machines
- Power-Driven Hoisting Apparatus
- Exposure to Radioactive Substances
- Coal Mining
- Driving a Motor Vehicle
- Roofing Operations
- Manufacturing and Storing of Explosives
- Power-Driven Woodworking Machines
- Power-Driven Circular Saws, Band Saws, Guillotine Shears, Chain Saws, Reciprocating Saws, Wood Chippers, and Abrasive Cutting Discs
- Power-Driven Metal-Forming, Punching, and Shearing Machines
- Power-Driven Bakery Machines
- Meat and Poultry Packing or Processing