Minimum Age to Work in KS
Kansas (KS) Quick Reference Table
|Age||Summary of Requirements|
|14-15||Minots must possess a work permit and may only work between the hours of 7:00am and 10:00pm on nights preceding a school day.|
|16-17||Work permit is not required, but minors must avoid potentially dangerous occupations as defined by the Secetaryof Labor.|
|18-20||Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption|
|21||Able to serve alcohol for consumption. No restrictions.|
Kansas Child Labor Laws
The Kansas Department of Labor controls the provisions governing the legal employment of minors in the state. They establish the rules for child labor or defer to federal law when no concrete provision exists.
How Old Do You Have to Be to Work in Kansas?
For the most part, individuals must stand at least 14 years of age to obtain gainful employment in Kansas. However, minors performing non-hazardous agricultural and household chores for private homes, newspaper delivery jobs and tasks for their parents’ company are exempt from age restrictions.
Work Hours for Kansas Minors
Kansas minors under 16 may work, from 7:00am to 7:00pm, and until 9:00pm between June 1st and Labor Day. 14 and 15 year olds may work up to three hours on a school day and eight hours on a non-school day. Juveniles younger than 16 may not work more than 18 hours in a school week or over 40 hours in a non-academic week.
Labor Permit Regulations
While work permits are unnecessary for most minors in Kansas, teens under 16 who have graduated, dropped out or withdrawn from high school must have an employment certificate Understanding how to get a work permit in the summer or without the help of a school official is necessary for these underage workers.
Do you need a work permit during summer?
Working individuals who are under 16 years old and do not attend secondary school must have a work permit on file with their employer.
Where can I get a work permit besides school?
Employment certificate applications are available at the office of the local superintendent or district judge.
How do I get a work permit during summer?
- Underage hopefuls must apply to jobs that complies with state regulation on occupations for minors.
- Any company wanting to hire the teen must give them an “Intention to Employ/A1” form to submit to the Kansas Department of Labor
- Minors must obtain their school records from their local board of education office
- Records must show that the individual has completed the elementary school curriculum
- Document must also have the signature of the principal of the last school the minor attended.
- The underage worker must bring school records, government documents for proof of age and the “Intent to Employ” form from their employer to the Department of Labor.
- After verifying all the paperwork, the Department will approve and issue a work permit for the teen.
Teen workers in Kansas may only hold employment in certain fields. Positions likely to cause injury or affect the health of minors are unavailable for underage workers. Once a person turns 18, the individual may work in any job, dangerous or otherwise. The following list outlines hazardous occupations as defined by the Secretary of Labor:
- Work with Explosives
- Driving a Motor Vehicle
- Work with Power-driven Machinery
- Exposure to Radioactive Substances
- Forest Fire Fighting/Prevention
- Meat Packing/Processing
- Manufacturing Brick/Tile
Jobs for 14 and 15 Year Olds
Further restrictions exist for minors under sixteen years of age. Jobs forbidden for 14 and 15 year olds include:
- Communications/Utilities Work
- Door-to-Door Sales
- Sign Waving
- Work with Amusement Park Rides
- Poultry Catching/Cooping
- Work in Freezers/Meat Coolers
- Warehouse Work
- Work on Ladders/Scaffolding
- Outside Window Washing From Windowsills
- Public Messenger Work
- Loading/Unloading Trucks
Entertainment Jobs for Minors
Entertainment-related occupations such as acting, dance, music, comedy and writing remain accessible to individuals under 18. The United States Department of Labor reserves the right to make regulations concerning safety rules and other policies of the industry. All earnings from this type of work must go solely to the minor, regardless of age. Infants must be at least one month old before they can work in films, or must have the approval of a licensed physician to certify that they are more than 15 days old, and are healthy enough to endure the potential stressors of the industry.
Children ages 12 and 13 may work in farming jobs during non-school hours with parental consent and supervision, while individuals under the age of 12 may only hold agricultural positions on farms exempt from minimum wage standards. Barring cases of exemption, juveniles working in agriculture must earn at least the federal minimum wage, unless employers pay on an accepted piece rate basis. Teens 14 and older may obtain any non-hazardous job in the industry. In addition, minors age 16 and older may maintain employment in any farming position and perform any agricultural duties at any time. No labor may take place during school hours, unless the employee works for a parent or guardian.
Restricted Farming Work
Many positions remain unobtainable for juveniles in the farming trade. Occupations with potentially dangerous or threatening responsibilities are unavailable to minors. The following list details forbidden agricultural duties for minors under 16 in Kansas:
- Operation of Tractors with 20 PTO Horsepower
- Work with Harvest Equipment
- Work in Fruit Silos/Granaries/Manure Pits
- Work in a Pen with a Bull/Boar/Horse Maintained for Breeding Purposes
- Transporting Passengers in a Motor Vehicle
- Exposure to Toxic Chemicals
source: Kansas child labor laws
source: Kansas work restrictions