Minimum Age to Work in LALouisiana (LA) Quick Reference Table
|Age||Summary of Requirements|
|14-15||Have on file an employment certificate for you completed by your school or school board. Limit your work schedule to no more than 3 hours on a school day and no more than 18 hours total during a school week.|
|16-17||Cannot work before 5:00am or after 11:00pm.|
|18-20||Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption|
|21||Able to serve alcohol for consumption. No restrictions.|
Louisiana Child Labor Laws
Louisiana Revised Statutes and the Administrative Code explain the policies of the state regarding jobs for kids. The primary purpose of the laws consists of allowing underage individuals to engage in legal work for profit without interfering with school responsibilities or putting children into hypothetically dangerous job situations. The State of Louisiana consistently visits and inspects locations employing child laborers to guarantee the individuals continue to receive fair treatment and laws remain upheld.
How Old Do You Have to Be to Work in Louisiana?
The minimum age most individuals must stand to secure legitimate employment sits at 14 years. Occupations and hours for minors remain constrained by necessary legal regulations. Underage restrictions on work end when individuals reach the age of legal maturity, which sits at eighteen years old in the Pelican State. Until the arrival of adulthood, minors need work certifications before gaining employment.
Exceptions for children twelve and thirteen years of age do exist to allow young individuals to gain employment under specific conditions. The parents or guardians of the minors must own or stand as a partner in the company in which the child works. In addition, 12 or 13 year olds must perform all labor under direct supervision by the same parent or guardian. Minors under 14 follow identical procedures and regulations to the older under age workers, including the obtainment of an employment certificate.
How to Obtain an Employment Permit In Louisiana
All occupations necessitate employment certificates for underage individuals, except for federal training programs for children and positions relating to modeling, television, film, theatre, music, and other performing arts. Completed work certificates possess the signatures of the minor, employer, and issuing authority. Verified proof of age, such as a birth certificate, passport, school record, or driver’s license proves necessary to obtain the certificate. The issuing official also requires written permission from the parent or guardian of the minor before signing the form.
The Executive Director of the Louisiana Workforce Commission may revoke permits if the issuance qualifies as improper. Education superintendents, public or private school principals, and representatives designated by either of the preceding groups may issue work permits to prospective working minors. All representatives must first pass approval by the Executive Director.
Work Permit Information for Employers
Employers must maintain a copy of the document on file during the period the individual holds the job and an additional 14 days after the termination of employment. The form must remain immediately available at the work location at all times. Though work certificates must generally correspond directly to one specific job posting, temporary 60-day blanket permits stand available to employers under discretionary circumstances to allow minors to work in any non-prohibited position at the specific company. Business owners hiring minors need to ensure the adherence to all rules and protocols regarding underage workers, such as hour and duty stipulations.
How Many Hours Can a Minor Work in Louisiana?
14 and 15 year olds may work no more than three hours on a school day and up to eight hours on a non-school day. Between June 1st and Labor Day, children fourteen and fifteen years of age can work until 9:00pm, and until 7:00pm otherwise. Laws place no limits on the amount of hours minors sixteen and seventeen years of age may work in a week. However, individuals must receive a rest period of at least eight hours at the end of the work day before the beginning of the next labor period. In addition, 16 year olds may not remain at work past 11:00 pm on a school night, and 17 year olds must finish shifts by midnight. For every five hours of work, employers must provide minors with uninterrupted 30-minute meal breaks. The supervising adult must also document the break.
Jobs for minors in Louisiana may bear restrictions if the positions may potentially jeopardize the welfare and safety of youths. Other jobs minors may not hold relate to activities considered indecent or immoral, such as establishments showcasing exotic dance exhibitions. Some specific jobs restricted by state law for all individuals 17 and under include:
- Cleaning or Oiling Machinery or Shafting
- Work in Mines or Quarries
- Stone Cutting/Polishing
- Any Job Related to Explosives
- Iron or Steel Manufacturing Plants
- Smelters or Foundries
- Sawmills or Logging Jobs
- Operation of Elevators or Hoisting Machinery
- Spray Painting or Work with Poisonous Compounds
Restricted Work for 14 and 15 Year Olds
Positons forbidden for teenagers fourteen and fifteen years old generally involve dangerous labor conditions. The Executive Director of the Louisiana Workforce Commission reserves the right to deem jobs inappropriate or hazardous for children. In addition to the occupations in the above list, 14 and 15 year olds may not hold employment in or related to the following fields:
- Commercial Laundry/Dry Cleaning
- Work with Ladders/Scaffolding
- Work in Boiler/Engine Rooms
- Meat/Cheese Slicing
- Work in Freezers/Meat Coolers
- Meat Processing
- Loading/Unloading Goods from Trucks/Trains/Conveyors
- Work with Power-driven Machinery
Driving occupations stand available only to minors 17 years of age and older, though restrictions, such as the requirement for daytime driving only, exist on the positions. Establishments retailing alcoholic beverages may still hire teenagers as long as sales of alcohol do not constitute the primary revenue of the business and the underage individuals do not handle the actual sales or preparations involving or consisting of alcohol. Theatrical companies may employ minors under 16 as long as a particular list of standards remains upheld. Regarding agricultural jobs, different provisions apply for minors to gain employment. Interested parties may contact the State Department for more details. Once a person turns eighteen, all Louisiana jobs, whether hazardous or not, become legally available.