Minimum Age to Work in NVNevada (NV) Quick Reference Table
|Age||Summary of Requirements|
|14-15||Cannot work more than 18 hours per week or more than 3 hours per day when school is in session. Cannot work before 7:00am or after 7:00pm.|
|16-17||Cannot work in any vocation which has been declared by Rule or Regulation of the Secretary of Labor to be dangerous or injurious to the life, health, morals or welfare of a minor.|
|18-20||Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption|
|21||Able to serve alcohol for consumption. No restrictions.|
Nevada Child Labor Laws
Any individual under the age of 18 legally stands as a minor in the State of Nevada. To ensure the protection of younger citizens, the state enforces laws restricting gainful employment of minors to certain safe professions and during hours which do not interfere with education. No state citizen under the age of 16 stands permitted to receive employment, and Nevada requires no special documentation, such as a work permit, to remain on file for sixteen and seventeen year olds. Additionally, where dissent occurs between state and federal child labor laws, whichever law remains stricter should dictate action.
Though the law explicitly prohibits the work of state citizens under the age of 16, some exceptions do apply. An individual standing at age 14 or 15, for example, may pursue employment only if granted written permission by a district court judge or a person authorized by the judge. The work Nevada youth may pursue remains limited to artistic, athletic, creative, and intellectual endeavors. Minors aged fourteen or fifteen absolutely cannot stand scheduled for work during school hours unless employed to work as a performer in a motion picture. For all working youth under the age of 16, an appointed guardian must set aside between 15 and 50 percent of all earnings.
How Many Hours Can a Minor Work in Nevada?
To ensure employment does not interfere with the education of a minor, labor laws outline specific times during which youth may work as well as the number of hours an individual may stand scheduled. The State of Nevada dictates 16 and 17 year old employees may not work more than eight hours any given day or more than 48 hours a week. Furthermore, youth employed to deliver goods or messages may not work between the hours of 10:00pm to 5:00am. Hour restriction exceptions include employment in domestic service, as a performer, and as a farm worker.
Some occupations prove too dangerous for minors. To protect the health, integrity, and well-being of youth, child labor laws must meticulously consider all industries in which individuals may seek employment. Work which remains too dangerous to allow minors to take part include:
- Involving Poisonous Chemicals
- Manufacturing of Paints or Lead
- Construction or Packaging of Matches
- Manufacturing of Goods for Immoral Purposes
- Mines and Quarries
- Smelting or Ore Reduction
- Work in Tabaco or Cigar Factory
- Distilleries, Breweries, and the Like
- Work With Power-Driven Machinery
- Railroad Related Work