Minimum Age to Work in UtahUtah (UT) Quick Reference Table
|Age||Summary of Requirements|
|14-15||May not start work before 5:00am and cannot work after 9:30pm. Can work in non-hazardous occupations, such as retail stores, restaurants, fast food, service stations, lawn care, janitorial, and other occupations not determined harmful by the Labor Commission.|
|16-17||Cannot work in any vocation which has been declared by Rule or Regulation of the Secretary of Labor to be dangerous or injurious to the life, health, morals or welfare of a minor.|
|18-20||Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption|
|21||Able to serve alcohol for consumption. No restrictions.|
Utah Child Labor Laws
In the State of Utah, minors may work in the restaurant industry, execute office work, perform certain jobs in the retail trade, and undertake other types of non-hazardous jobs beginning at age 14. Employment such as newspaper delivery, babysitting, and basic lawn care stand available for younger minors as well in special situations. While minors may work in various industries in accordance with both state and federal labor laws, restrictions on hours must remain observed. Employers must also remember minors under the age of 18 remain prohibited from performing any task deemed hazardous by child labor laws.
Federal law states jobs for 14 and 15 year olds may feature schedules with more than three hours on a day in which school remains in session. Minors may not work past 7:00pm from Labor Day until June 1. From June 1 to Labor Day, the limit extends to 9:00pm. No minor aged 14 or 15 may work more than 18 hours a week while school remains in session and no more than 40 hours a week when not in session. Minors under 16 years of age may not work more than four days a week and remain prohibited from working between the hours of 9:30pm and 5:30am.
Minors over the age of 16 face no hour restrictions in the State of Utah. Employers must remain cognizant of break times and meal periods. Any minor under the age of 18 must receive a meal break of at least 30 minutes no later than five hours from the time shifts begin. A rest break of at least 10 minutes for every three hours worked must also take place.
Special Hour Restrictions
Conversely, Utah state law dictates minors under the age of 16 may work up to four hours on a school day and until 9:30pm year round. In addition, minors may work after 9:30pm if the next day does not constitute a school day. Nevertheless, employers should follow the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) if any questions arise over allowed hours of work.
In the State of Utah, minors under the age of 18 do not need to obtain work permits or statements of age in order to work. Though not required, a minor or place of employment may still wish to pursue a work permit. In order to do so, the minor retains responsibility for procuring such documentation. Minors may acquire work permits from attended schools, or in the case of home schooling, from the school district the youth would attend regularly by filling out an application with the Utah Labor Commission.
Occupations Permitted for Minors under 16
Prevention of health risks serves as the principal purpose of child labor laws, so a large portion of the federal mandates outlines which occupations prove too dangerous for minors. Until minors reach the age of 18, labor law restrictions remain strictly enforced. Minors at 14 and 15 years old may face additional restrictions older youth do not. Jobs available to fourteen and fifteen year olds in Utah include occupations in the following industries or settings:
- Tutoring, Singing, Acting, or Playing an Instrument
- Running Errands or Delivery Work via Foot, Bike, or Public Transportation
- Any Yard Work not using Power-Driven Mowers, Cutters, Trimmers, or Similar Equipment
- Service Stations, such as Dispensing Gasoline or Oil and Hand Washing or Polishing
- Kitchen Work including Reheating Food, Washing Dishes, and Limited Cooking.
- Loading or Unloading Objects for use at Worksites, such as Rakes, Hand-held Tools, and Shovels.
- Lifeguard Duties at Traditional Swimming Pools and Water Amusement Parks
Occupations Prohibited for Minors under 18
All minors under the age of 18 remain prohibited from a series of occupations laid out by the United States Department of Labor and the FLSA. The government agencies deem such opportunities as too dangerous for minors and, typically, no exceptions exist. In most cases, in order for a youth to perform in the following industries, a special work study or apprentice program must transpire, which would require additional paperwork and varies in each industry. The following represents the lines of work typically inaccessible by any minor under the age of 18:
- Manufacturing or Storing Explosives or Explosive Components
- Motor Vehicle Drivers and Helpers
- Coal Mining
- Sawmills or other Logging Operations
- Any Exposure to Radioactive Substances or Ionizing Radiation
- Operation of Power-driven Hoisting Apparatus
- Metalworking Apparatus
- Meat Processing
- Power-driven Bakery Machines
- Manufacturing of Brick, Tile, and Clay Products
- Operation of Band Saws, Circular Saws, or Guillotine Shears
- Roofing Operations
- Excavating Operations
- Wrecking, Demolishing, and Shipbuilding