Minimum Age to Work in WY
Wyoming (WY) Quick Reference Table
|Age||Summary of Requirements|
|14-15||Must have a work permit, work up to three daily or 18 weekly hours, and perform all job tasks between 7:00am and 7:00pm.|
|16-17||Regulations prohibit these minors from performing the hazardous tasks on the Labor Commission’s list of dangerous occupations.|
|18-20||Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption|
|21||Able to serve alcohol for consumption. No restrictions.|
Wyoming Child Labor Laws
Child labor laws remain in place to protect the integrity, safety, overall well-being, and educational pursuits of youth in the United Sates. The Labor Standards Office at the Wyoming Department of Workforce Services maintains responsibility for enforcing the laws in the State of Wyoming. Though the term minor traditionally encapsulates any individual under the age of 18, Wyoming child labor laws use minor to refer specifically to 14 and 15 year olds. The only field of employment exempt from labor laws remains work in agriculture. Employers should note any dissent between federal and state labor practices, as the strictest and most protective law must remain followed. Should confusion arise, contacting the U.S. Department of Labor to ensure compliance with both state and federal law stands in the best interest of the employer and the minor.
The State of Wyoming does not require individuals under the age of 16 to obtain a work permit before engaging in gainful employment. However, employers must keep documented proof of age of all employed minors on file. School officials often assist minors with acquiring these documents during the semester. However, teens wondering how to get a work permit in the summer will need to access these forms on their own.
Do you need a work permit during summer?
Work permits are unneeded at all times for working minors in Wyoming.
Where can I get a work permit besides school?
Proof of age documents such as driver’s licenses, birth certificates and state-issued ID cards allow individuals under 18 to obtain non-hazardous jobs. The state’s government website lets people access their official documents, while the local DMV can issue a license or state ID.
How do I get a work permit during summer?
- After receiving an employment offer, teens can bring their identification to their orientation to prove that they are eligible for the position
- Employers must keep a copy of the minor’s documentation on file for the duration of the youth’s employment.
How Many Hours Can a 14 or 15 Year Old Work?
Hour restrictions persist to ensure the schoolwork of a minor stands unaffected by employment. Wyoming youth may work no more than eight hours during any given 12-hour period. Additionally, minors may not work between the hours of 10:00pm and 5:00am when school stands in session the next morning. During evenings when school shall not persist in session the next day, Wyoming minors may work as late as 12:00am.
Certain professions and fields of work remain too perilous or risky for minors. To protect the youth of the state, strict policing of minor employment persists as a necessity. The following occupations stand too dangerous for Wyoming children for any number of reasons:
- Operation or Repair of Construction Equipment
- Work With Explosives and Dangerous Chemicals
- Acting/Performing in a Venue Which Serves Alcohol
- Coal Mining
- Youth Peddling, Especially on Street Corners or Subway Stations
- Operation of Motor Vehicles
- Use of Lawn Mowers, Trimmers, Cutters, or Edger’s
- Operation of Golf Carts and All-Terrain Vehicles
- Use of Food Slicers, Grinders, Choppers, Processors, Cutters, or Mixers
- Catching and Cooping Poultry
- Manufacturing of Brick, Tile, and the Like
One of the most recently passed amendments to the Wyoming child labor laws dictates previously restricted occupations now stand accessible to minors 14 and 15 years of age. The following list does not include every field of employment in which a minor may receive hire, and employers should always follow necessary preventative measures to avoid fines or jail time:
- Retail, Food Service, and Gasoline Service
- State and Local Government
- Insurance Companies
- Advertising Agencies
- Information Technology Firms
- Computer Programming
- Tutoring, Teaching Assistant, and Peer Counseling
- Lifeguarding (15 Year Olds Only)
source: Wyoming child labor laws